The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
We have to step up and be our own heroes - with Jennifer
9
0:00
-1:51:42

We have to step up and be our own heroes - with Jennifer

SM's Journey: Conversations from the Trenches
9

Wow! What a conversation with Jennifer, one of the co-founders of Partners for Ethical Care—Jennifer is the mother of a desisted teenage girl, and she’s passionate about her work at PEC to “end medicalization of children.” During our conversation, we talk briefly about the HB454 hearings in Ohio and I promise to put links to testimony videos in the show notes. PEC is still working to create these links and I will update these notes (and send an email to let you know) once I get those! This is a long and dense conversation and I’m so grateful that Jennifer took the time to engage on the heady topics we dive into. Jennifer also has recently been interviewed for the following podcasts:

You must be some kind of therapist with Stephanie Winn

Whose Body is it? with Isabella Malbin

Known Heretic with Amy Sousa

You can follow Jennifer on Twitter @nogenderpredtrs or reach out to her at support@partnersforethicalcare.com.

During our conversation, I mention this article that was in the New Yorker, (not the New York Times) “A Year Without a Name” and 10 Ways to inoculate your kid against bad ideas that can be found at fairforall.substack.com (the publication for the organization Foundation Against Intolerance and Racism or FAIR.) We also spend some time talking about education and how our schooling system affects our relationship with our body. My other Substack: SM’s Essential Concepts is where I house most my thoughts on this topic from the perspective of a former classroom teacher. Currently if you purchase an annual subscription to this newsletter, I will comp you a subscription to SM’s Essential Concepts—you just need to let me know you’d like this by responding to one of these emails or the Welcome email you receive when you upgrade your subscription.

As always, I welcome comments and discussion! Let me know what you thought of this conversation. Did you learn anything new? Was there anything you need more clarity around? What came up for you as you listened?

9 Comments
The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
At this point, I have embraced this destabilizing, sometimes excruciating, sometimes wondrous experience of having a trans-IDed child as “curriculum of the soul.” Because I can’t help but imagine how different the world might be if we could all take the hardest thing in our lives and view it as this, as curriculum of the soul. Practitioners of Stoicism might say, "the obstacle is the way." These are my conversations and reflections--along the way.