The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
Q&A (+ bonus content) with Patrick Ryan
0:00
-46:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The StoicMom Project

Q&A (+ bonus content) with Patrick Ryan

main interview titled, "Prisons of Specialness"

I apologize if this is a duplicate for you. It didn’t publish correctly the first time.

PLEASE READ: Pat shares some suicide-related statistics in his first response that didn’t sink in when we were speaking and that I found confusing when I went to relisten and edit the episode. I’ve sought some clarity, but he’s a busy guy and I’ve not yet received answers to my questions. Once I get those, I’ll update these show notes. I didn’t want to continue to delay publishing this Q&A.

If you haven’t yet, you can listen to the main interview with Patrick Ryan here. Below are the questions submitted by the SMP online learning community that Pat answers in this segment of our conversation.

This post is for paid subscribers

The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
At this point, I have embraced this destabilizing, sometimes excruciating, sometimes wondrous experience of having a trans-IDed child as “curriculum of the soul.” Because I can’t help but imagine how different the world might be if we could all take the hardest thing in our lives and view it as this, as curriculum of the soul. Practitioners of Stoicism might say, "the obstacle is the way." These are my conversations and reflections--along the way.