The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
Finding healing and joy and life again - with Lynn aka Gender_Apostate
4
0:00
-1:28:36

Finding healing and joy and life again - with Lynn aka Gender_Apostate

conversations along the way
4

As difficult a conversation as I anticipated this could be, I have to say, I had such an amazing time visiting with Lynn. It truly became a conversation about finding healing and joy and life again, and I’m so grateful to have had this opportunity to connect with someone who has done so much for other parents dealing with this circumstance. Lynn’s story of estrangement is uniquely tragic, and I encourage you to pay attention to her description of the process of grief that was integral to her healing.

I also highly recommend that you read Lynn’s article that I reference during our conversation: Lessons from the Long Road of Grief which is found at her substack, Gender Apostasy.

If you’re interested in joining Lynn’s FB group, Oasis, you can message Lynn on Twitter where her username is @Gender_Apostate.

You can also email her at parentsupprogd@gmail.com

Among my articles, those that came to mind for me during this conversation included: Is it okay? and How will you know?

As always, I welcome your comments! What part of this conversation resonated most for you? Were you bothered by anything? If you found value in the conversation, please don’t forget to hit the like button!

4 Comments
The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
At this point, I have embraced this destabilizing, sometimes excruciating, sometimes wondrous experience of having a trans-IDed child as “curriculum of the soul.” Because I can’t help but imagine how different the world might be if we could all take the hardest thing in our lives and view it as this, as curriculum of the soul. Practitioners of Stoicism might say, "the obstacle is the way." These are my conversations and reflections--along the way.