The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
Cultivating the capacity for surrender and adaptation -with Dr. Maggie Goldsmith
2
0:00
-1:05:47

Cultivating the capacity for surrender and adaptation -with Dr. Maggie Goldsmith

conversations along the way
2

It was so much fun to have Dr. Maggie Goldsmith back on to talk about one of my favorite subjects that also tends to get me into trouble with listeners: surrender. Maggie shares some of the consistencies she’s seen in the families she’s worked with and we marvel at how we’ve arrived at many of the same insights. We certainly are in agreement that the healthiest path through this circumstance is to use it as context to teach us what to let go of and what still needs to be cultivated in ourselves to be the healthiest possible parents for our trans-identified kiddos. It gets messy at the end as we devolve into laughter and shit metaphors—hopefully this demonstrates that there truly is light at the end of this tunnel.

As I relistened, I couldn’t help but think of this older article I wrote back in 2022 when this Substack was in its infancy: Is it time to let go?

You can also listen to Maggie’s and my first conversation here:

The painful and scary task of separation

Discussion about this podcast

The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
At this point, I have embraced this destabilizing, sometimes excruciating, sometimes wondrous experience of having a trans-IDed child as “curriculum of the soul.” Because I can’t help but imagine how different the world might be if we could all take the hardest thing in our lives and view it as this, as curriculum of the soul. Practitioners of Stoicism might say, "the obstacle is the way." These are my conversations and reflections--along the way.