The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
Our Bodies are Precious-with Sara
5
0:00
-1:12:14

Our Bodies are Precious-with Sara

SM's Journey: Conversations from the Trenches
5

“A number of podcasts do a good job examining trans ideology, but there’s a glaring black hole where the voices of mothers should be.” -reader/listener comment on StoicMom’s Journey podcast. I hope to fill this “glaring black hole” with Conversations from the Trenches!

In this episode, I talk with Sara (pseudonym), a mother whose 18 year daughter has desisted. I loved this conversation with Sara who has been really plugged into what’s happening with our teens. I was inspired by her compassion, open-minded curiosity, and humility. She also shares a plea for more conversation on the topic along with some grim warnings about damaging and disturbing encounters with “professionals”. We cover lots of topics and could have continued talking for hours. I hope to have Sara on again soon so we can dive deeper into at least some of the many threads we started during this conversation.

I’m definitely still a beginner and I hope to get less awkward at opening and ending these conversations, but my goofs kinda crack me up (and I haven’t spent time figuring out how to edit these files) so you get to listen to me obliviously misspeak in my intro and “uh-oh, oops” at the end. As always, I welcome your comments and hope you’ll give Sara some love by liking and commenting on this episode! If you’re finding value from StoicMom’s content and haven’t yet upgraded to a paid subscription, please consider supporting my work with a few dollars a month.

5 Comments
The StoicMom Project
The StoicMom Project
At this point, I have embraced this destabilizing, sometimes excruciating, sometimes wondrous experience of having a trans-IDed child as “curriculum of the soul.” Because I can’t help but imagine how different the world might be if we could all take the hardest thing in our lives and view it as this, as curriculum of the soul. Practitioners of Stoicism might say, "the obstacle is the way." These are my conversations and reflections--along the way.